Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
limpiefoot

Grass clippings as mulch or compost?

limpiefoot
15 years ago

I'm a newbie gardener and compost'er in GA. Our soil is mostly clay, and rain has been sparse this year. My sister is an avid gardener in upstate New York. She suggested putting a few inches of grass clippings throughout my vegetable garden (~4'x15') to help keep the soil moist and cool. I have been composting kitchen scraps, grass and leaves for a few months now. Would the soil be better served by composting the grass, then mixing it in with the clay soil, or does putting a layer actually help anything? It seems to be attracting bugs more than anything.

Comments (13)

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

Any kind of organic material works well as a mulch and is very beneficial for the garden. Many use grass clippings after letting them dry a bit first. Just search 'grass clippings' here for many discussions on this question.

I don't have much grass so I use old hay. The key is to layer it on thickly.

Dave

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

macky77 - Dried grass clippings are "greens" (nitrogens), not "browns" (carbons). This has been discussed here numerous times.

I'm not sure why you experienced such an "utter failure" given that so many report a high degree of success using grass clippings, but I would agree that composting them is also quite beneficial. Meanwhile use something else for the needed mulch. The important thing is to mulch. ;)

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Mulching FAQ

• robertz6
    15 years ago

I tried using fresh cut grass clipping as mulch a time of two. It would fall at the bottom of my list for types of mulches, but I have seven compost piles. Grass tends to form clots or bunches; and water tends to run off rather then being stored as with compost.