Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pinkkpearls

Layering, Mounds, etc.

pinkkpearls
9 years ago

I am fairly new to gardening and wanted clarification on a few terms I have heard...

I am trying to do more of a mound type garden bed and I am unsure how I should go about doing it...

Should I just pour my compost, soils, etc. on top of the site where I want the bed then plant directly into it? Or do I build up the soil I have (mostly clay) and form that into a mound with my other amendments?

Comments (13)

• jean001a
    9 years ago

Take a look at this link ...

Here is a link that might be useful: raised beds without formal sides - aka mound

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    9 years ago

Ideally, it is best to disturb the native soil under the mound to some degree but not absolutely necessary. It depends a lot on the size of the mound and exactly what kind of drainage issues, if any, you may have.

The terms 'mounds' and 'berms' are often used interchangeably but a berm is really just a large mound. Many folks mound up soil in planting beds to a much smaller scale than most berms. If this is your intention, you can just mound your good soil on top of what you have. If constructing a larger berm, checking for proper drainage may be more important.

I am not a big fan of layering different materials to create either mounds or berms. Water percolation is always going to be better if the soil is uniform in consistency, so I'd advise mixing all your soil products together before forming the mound. The exception is large berms, which often have some sort of fill at their base but that tends to accelerate drainage rather than impede it.

Sometimes it's all a matter of scale :-))

Here is a link that might be useful: creating berms

• toxcrusadr
    9 years ago