Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tonya499_gw

Walnut trees and dogs

tonya499
15 years ago

I've been told that walnuts, especially older moldy ones, are toxic for dogs. Our new house has a huge black walnut tree in the backyard and yes our dogs have found and tried to eat the old nuts. We've picked up all of them from last year, but is there any way to avoid this next year? Is there a net system we can set up or something? Of course, with it being black walnut, I have had a few carpenters offer to cut it down for me for free. :-)

Comments (22)

• lucky_p
    15 years ago

tonya,
    I'm a veterinarian, and I'd never heard this one before, but a Google search indicates that moldy walnut hulls may indeed pose a hazard. However, after being involved in veterinary medicine for nearly 25 years in areas where black walnuts are a common and significant part of the climax canopy and occasionallly in the urban landscape, the fact that I've never seen or even heard of this phenomenon, I'm somewhat inclined to think that the threat is pretty minimal - though, if it happens to your own dog, it's very important. I've always been more concerned about an overzealous pup swallowing a black walnut whole and ending up with a gastrointestinal blockage.
    It's pretty difficult, and certainly impractical, to attempt to prevent a mature black walnut from producing nuts - that's what they do. If it's even possible, it would probably require yearly applications of Florel at the time of bloom. Your realistic options are to: pick up all nuts as soon as they drop from the tree, have the tree removed and plant something else, or just watch your dogs for any inclination to chew on the nuts.

• calliope
    15 years ago

LOL. I have four black walnuts, a dog and no problems.

• tonya499
    Original Author
    15 years ago