Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brianinthcity

Betta help please

brianinthcity
16 years ago

Hi, I am new to Betta so bare with my ignorance. I had two female Betta in a one galln bowl, as the petco store said this was a fine way to keep them. They were very happy for a week, they played with each other, took naps together and got along fine. They were very cute to watch. Then today I came home and one of them had died. She seemed great this morning. I noticed a white-ish residue around the bowl where the water had evaporated. Any thoughts about this? Was two too many? Is the fish thats left going to be lonely, they really semed to like each other.Thanks

Comments (3)

• woeisme
    16 years ago

"Any thoughts about this? Was two too many? Is the fish thats left going to be lonely, they really semed to like each other.Thanks"

Yes 2 fish in a bowl is 2 too many. Use the bowl for candy or soup. Get a small aquarium with filtration, cover and a quality heater. Petco had shelf kits that where about 6 gallons. The eclipse tanks are also inexpensive for what you get and the quality. An ideal betta set up is 5 or more gallons, moderatly to heavy planted maintained by the aid of an adjustable heater between 76-80F degrees. Your fish most likely died from ammonia poisoning or water quality issues of a bowl kept fish. Sometimes female bettas get agressive toward each other as they mature, but I would guess that the real problem is the bowl and the toxic water conditions created by keeping fish in them. The pet stores will swear that is all they need. Either they are uninformed and told to market them that way or just liars.

• grammas
    16 years ago

WHOA!!! There... I am a Pet Shop owner and I do not appreciate being called a Liar!!!.Please do not paint us all with the same brush..