Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blujen_gw

help me improve my plan please? (long post, sorry)

Hello, Ive been lurking here about 6 months, this is my first post. Thank you all for letting me eavesdrop on your conversations. This is my plan and setup for composting, and IÂd really appreciate it if you would tell me your opinions.

I have a small property (5 acres) with 4 horses. It is divided (roughly) into a 3 acre pasture, a 1 acre riding arena / turnout area, and 1 acre for house, barn, garage/shop, and gardens.

I moved in two years ago, and built the barn and fences, the house and shop were here when I moved in. I have so far built two small (10Â x 10Â) square vegetable beds, and one large (4Â x 48Â) rose bed. There are small beds around the house. IÂve also built a small (4Âx6Â) raised strawberry bed, and this fall I am adding an 8Âx30Â lasagna-style vegetable bed.

I studied up on the manure removal issue when I was planning my property, and decided that the best choice would be to compost as much as possible, sending the rest to landfill (I know that landfill is a bad choice, but I simply donÂt have enough energy or spare time to handle ALL of the manure/bedding  I plan to gradually increase the amount IÂm keeping on the property and eliminate the landfill waste, but so far IÂm at about 2/3 composted, 1/3 hauled away) I have considered offering the excess on free cycle, but IÂm pretty far out of town and doubt anyone would want to come this far to pick some up.