Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
antiqueroselady

Fortuniana rootstock in clay soil

antiqueroselady
13 years ago

Hi Everyone-

I live in the Houston, TX area and I have clay soil. I just got Veteran's Honor on fortuniana rootstock and I was wondering if anyone had any experience growing HT's grafted onto fortuniana in clay soil. I've heard that fortuniana has "hair-like" roots and I'm not sure they can penetrate the hard clay soil - so I was thinking about making a raised bed and filling with nice potting soil. Another worry I had was what if the top part dies someday and the fortuniana rootstock takes over - will I end up with a giant fortuniana rose? Any help would be appreciated, thankyou.

Comments (6)

• michaelg
    13 years ago

Since your question has been unanswered for a day--I have no experience, but at least two people have posted about this in the past. The roses on Fort. did fine in clay soil. Growers farther north reported decreased winter hardiness.

One thing you should be aware of: the very high graft and long shank below it are mechanically weak. You need to drive a couple of pieces of rebar next to the crown and tie them firmly to the bases of canes. Otherwise a large plant can break at the graft.

• rootygirl
    13 years ago

I am not an experienced grower, but I talked to a man at our local rose society. He grows many roses of different types and has a lovely garden. He swears by fortuniana stock. Our soil is hard clay and rock, so I think it probably does well in clay.
    Thanks for the rebar idea, michael.
    Rooty

• anntn6b
    13 years ago

If OP is on the west side of Houston and gardens (or tries to) in the heavy dark gray clay around Rte 6, Fortuniana (and most other roses) have problems growing in it, unammended. Gypsum and composted rice hulls gave me a rose garden in that horrible stuff.