Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bakemom_gw

Seed saving

bakemom_gw
11 years ago

So far I have saved Diantus and Flax - I'm summer sowing the Dianthus and the Flax I crumbled and scattered in the wildflower bed. For others - I have saved coreopsis, blue fescue and knautia.

What have YOU saved?

Comments (27)

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    11 years ago

I'm just getting started, but yesterday: frittilaria, few hellebores (most got away from me, I'll be yanking self sown seedings next spring), meconopsis cambrica Muriel Brown. It's raining this morning, the plan had been to check bleeding hearts, corydalis blackberry wine for seed pods that might be ready.

• docmom_gw
    11 years ago

Bleeding hearts and Virginia Bluebells saved so far. I'm waiting for foxglove and Trillium to ripen. I hear that Trillium is a really slow germinator, so I might just throw them down in my patch of Trillium and hope they are happy there. I get really tired of having milk jugs laying around--especially when I don't even know if there is anything alive inside. I'm also waiting on coral bells (heuchera). Those blooms last forever! And I have primarily shade, now. So, I need attractive foliage and long lasting blooms in the shade. I sure wish coleus could survive our winters. I may try to keep some cuttings alive next winter.

I'm looking forward to hearing what others are saving. And I hope some of them end up as donations to the newbie seed project for next year. Happy Gardening!

Martha

• molanic
    11 years ago

I had to get out all my seed saving stuff today to organize the seeds I have already saved and get them off the dining room table. I had just put away my seed boxes after finally finishing all my spring direct sowing too!
    So far I have:
    virginia bluebells
    sweet william
    fringed pinks
    basket of gold alyssum
    prairie smoke
    chives
    perennial cornflower
    some different columbines
    wild geraniums