Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cristal24_gw

How to trim ???

cristal24
10 years ago

Hello!

I have this succulent plant at least I'm pretty sure its a succulent. It started out 6 months ago really short and full very round and its started to grown up and up and up!

Im not sure what to do Im afraid its going to snap in half when I come in to work one day.

I read some place that says to cut it from the top and then to plant it but not right away..?? Im new to plants and would really like it if this one lived can anyone give me some tips on what to do?

Much appreciated !!

Comments (9)

• bikerdoc5968 Z6 SE MI
    10 years ago

It appears to be an Echeveria or something in the Crassulaceae family. It wants almost full sun to keep it tight in its growth habit. Yours appears not to have had enough sun and has become etiolated or elongated. Next, I can't appreciate your soil, but it looks a bit heavy and could use some perlite for better drainage. Having said this, as long as you are careful with watering, you should be OK. Once you have cut the top off as indicated, remove the bottom leaves so you have about 2" of bare stem. Allow this portion to callous in a warm shaded area for about a week and replant. The bottom should send out new growth in a month or so. As for the newly planted top, water very sparingly until it begins to grow. This will take some time depending on how warm you keep and how much light it gets. Until it begins growing, don't place in direct sun as it will most definitely sunburn. You can try to root the leaves removed from the stem as long as they have the meristem still attached; that's the small "nubbin" in the center of the leave once removed. If you "peel" the leave horizontally, you should be good to go.

• cristal24
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the info!
    My plant sits on the window sill in my office so its getting plenty of daylight i think..whats "heavy" soil?

I do have a few more questions before I do anything.