Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
guccirush1892

I want to work in horticulture, where to begin?

guccirush1892
16 years ago

Gardening has always been a significant part of my life but I have never really considered it a career until now. I attended FIT in NYC to learn fashion and I currently work as a designer associate for a high end designer. I'm realizing this is not what I really want to do and I don't want to continue to live NY. I want to return to California and become a horticulturist. However, I don't know exactly how to do so because i'm basically starting off from scratch. I'm scared cost of going back to school would be too expensive on top of loans I'm already paying for FIT. Plus, I would probably need to do low paying part time work compared to what I am making now. Does anyone have any advice on how I should handle this? I don't want to continue a career in fashion. I want to work with plants!

Comments (6)

• gardenguru1950
    16 years ago

Depends on what you mean by "horticulturist".

Such a title or "job" is pretty much exclusive to large estates and botanical gardens, arboreta and zoos. Getting into these establishments is usually a matter of having some schooling and then doing an internship.

If you're simply meaning "someone who works with plants", you'll find out that there are LOTS of job opportunities. Many times, it requires nothing more than having a love for plants.

If you do want some formal education, look into the many community colleges throughout California (see list). Many of them have two-year degrees and/or certificate programs in horticulture. I work for one. Cost is minimal and there are often scholarships available that can take you to a four-year school, if you desire.

If you could be a little more specific about your idea of "horticulturist", I could offer more help.

Joe

Here is a link that might be useful: Listing of California Community Collegs

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    16 years ago