Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lynne3450_gw

Magnolia tree

lynne3450
13 years ago

Hi, my first post! DH and I just closed escrow on our first home, and I'm new to gardening, and really don't have a natural aptitude for it, but I dream of California native plants, and specifically of transforming our front yard to low-water plantings and natives.

I'd also like to plant a beautiful tree in memory of our greyhound, Timber, who passed away 9 months ago, and bury her ashes beneath the tree. Ideally, I'd like to choose a tree that will be so beautiful that even when we move away from this home years down the road, a new family will appreciate its beauty and it will never be chopped down.

I LOVE those beautiful magnolia trees that blossom in the early spring with the magenta/purple/white blossoms. Are those particularly low-water/ drought-tolerant? Will a tree like that work in my dream front yard?

If not, can you suggest an equally breath-taking, timeless tree to honor our wonderful dog?

Thank you!

Lynne

Comments (12)

• iris_gal
    13 years ago

I love Magnolia soulangiana. There are many cultivars. Remember to take the eventual width into account when designing your garden.

• gardenguru1950
    13 years ago

Magnolia x soulangeana is not at all drought-tolerant, although very old specimens may be more durable.

More importantly, Magnolia x soulangeana is very sensitive to hard water and since you indicate you're in zone 10, I'm assuming you're in Southern California where the water is very hard. The minerals in the water will cause "tip burn" on the Magnolia, often quite extensively by mid summer. Many people accept that as a trade-off for the fantastic flowers but I'm thinking that you probably want something that is as beautiful as your dog was, all the time. With a name like "Timber", you need to honor him with a beautiful TREE.