Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
johnromano_gw

Newbie Pitcher Plant Question

johnromano
16 years ago

I am new to this so don't go for the jugular just yet....

I have this pitcher plant here and I am curious if anyone knows which species it is. I know it is a Nepenthes, however I am not sure which type.

Also not sure what it is going on with it. I have it had for 8 months and it has grown 3 new leaves, no pitchers though. The one on there was there when I purchased it.

I also included a picture of something going on with the leaves. I know the plant is slow growing.

It is in a sphagnum/peat moss substrate. I use distilled water from my school's chemistry lab, temperature is low seventies and it gets full sun.

Will pitchers come in eventually or is it somehow picking up nutrients in the substrate?

Any ideas about the leaves? Too much sun?

{{gwi:553154}}

{{gwi:553155}}

Any help would be appreciated, feel free to scold me for not being properly educated.

John

Comments (8)

• hunterkiller03
    16 years ago

That is definitely Nepenthes truncata. This species is easy to grow, they can tolerate low humidity in the air as long as you keep the media moist but not water logged. Nepenthes like well soil with good drainage, which normally consist of 1 part sphagnum moss and 1 part perlite. DonÂt ever use regular potting soil!

The pitchers of N. truncata are one of the largest once it reaches maturity, they can easily grow as big as a 2 liter Pepsi bottles long. Below are pictures of my plant growing in a 6 inch pot, this is how the plant looks when it has its pitchers developed. My plant is around 6 inches across and is making pitchers over 7 inches. How big is your plant?

{{gwi:553156}}
    {{gwi:553157}}
    {{gwi:553159}}

• mutant_hybrid
    16 years ago

Hello johnromano,