Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clay_belle

What do you suggest for my first perennial experience?

clay_belle
16 years ago

I am a NeWbIe at this and I spend HOURS of my day (which should really be used for housekeeping)searching the net for plants. I would like to put some perennials in my front yard that will grow in VERY alkaline clay soil. Seriously people, it's short of being mud. I'm in a brand new housing development (the kind that throws up houses in a month or two) and they basically scraped all the good dirt off when the graded the land.

I have some run of the mill daylilies (that I swear would grow in a bowl of water!) that are doing excellent! I also have the standard hedges they put in... I would rather not keep them.

I would ultimately like to have a front yard that is filled with;

Small leafy bushes/ornamental grasses

Flowering plants

Hosta

Butterfly/bee/bird attracting plants.

*deep breath in and sigh*

That's all!

Thank You Thank You Thank You!!!!

=D

Rebecca

P.S I am sorry if I am being a pain the the pitoooey.

Comments (18)

• Dibbit
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Hey, we all began somewhere, some when - this is yours. Kudos to you for not settling for whatever the builder left behind, and for knowing there is something better!

The very first thing I would do is to get as much compost as you can and work it into your soil - it will work wonders in improving the condition of the soil - lightening the clay and buffering the alkilinity. Building raised beds will provide for good drainage - bring in topsoil (IF it is good and not full of more clay and weed seeds) as you can afford it, but avoid the "topsoil" that looks like it is half potting soil as it better suited for pots and not in-ground growing. Raised beds can help a lot with poor soil and poor drainage - as many plants can be killed by wet at their roots as are killed by being too dry.