Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oberci

Help with Proper Repotting Procedure

oberci
11 years ago

Hello all,

This is my first post here but I've been perusing the Citrus Forum for a few months now and I'm in Sacramento, CA. I have 2 mandarine trees that I'd like to move into a more decorative container which will remain outdoors, and as I've never done it before, I'm hoping you all can help me get through the repotting procedure. I figured I'd give these trees the best chance at a smooth transition by asking you all for help before I make some nonsense mistake and have to redo everything. ;)

Here is what I've gathered from looking over past threads, but please chime in if I am missing something or have something wrong.

Here's the plan:

1. Soak tree in existing pot.

2. Mix 511 with about 1 tbsp/gallon of Dolomite.

3. Fill new container with mix to about where the bottom of roots will reach.

4. When well-soaked, remove tree from old pot and shake off old mix. Get as much of old soil off of the roots as possible keeping it in a shady area as roots are exposed.

5.Prune roots by about 1/3 all around.

6. Hold tree at desired height in container and add mix gently pressing down to secure tree in place.

7. Add mix to the the height that it was in in the old container.

8. Insert a wooden dowel toward the center of the rootball.

9. Water thoroughly with a capful of white vinegar added per gallon of water.

1. Water whenever the wooden dowel comes out dry.

2. Once the tree puts out new growth, add Foliage Pro with every watering.

And a couple questions:

-What do you usually do with the old soil mix?

-Is it necessary to top prune as well and by how much?

-Should water be added to the mix as it is being added or only at the end?

-How thick of a wooden dowel do you use?

-How long do you wait to start adding FP after repotting?

Comments (22)

• meyermike_1micha
    11 years ago