20 years ago

Mine are the works of Joy Larkcom.

Comments (4)

• bev1951
    20 years ago

Eliot Coleman is the only one I've read so far. Looking for more. Bev

• mercurygirl
    20 years ago

If you're into vegetables, get "Growing Vegetables West of the Cascades" by Steve Solomon. Comprehensive and explains a lot about our unique growing conditions. I'm new at this and what a great shortcut to have the benefit of veteran experience! He founded Territorial Seed Co. (I think).
    Also the Sunset Western Garden Book.
    Check out raintreenursery.com for LOTS of info about fruits and nuts of all kinds.

• mcStargazer
    20 years ago

"Root Cellaring" by Mike & Nancy Bubel.

This book teaches one how to incorporate a root cellar into a year-round feast from the garden. They individually discuss many vegetables, pointing out the ones both above and below ground, that could stay right in the garden throughout the winter. The book also covers many fruits, nuts, and other food items. One section of the book details storage conditions necessary for the different foods: cool & dry, moist and cold, not quite so moist and cool, etc... They teach you how to design everything from a full-size walk-in cellar to how to use hay bales or old barrels & other items to construct places to store vegetables.

Also included is a menu/calendar of what a typical family might eat through the year, broken down into categories of: fresh from the garden, from the root cellar, canned, and frozen.