Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimcarp_gw

need winterizing help a.s.a.p.

jimcarp
16 years ago

Guys: As you may have read in previous posts I am kinda new at this fig growing. Heres my dilemma. I have 2 figs which I seem to manage to kill every winter.After unwrapping they were soggy and moldy. From your posts I think I can right them off to over cooking in the winter.I managed to keep 1 going and actually fruited this summer. the other came back via new shoots. So I pretty much have a 2yr old and a brand new 1. Both look very healthy. We are now starting to get very cold nights here in eastern Ontario Canada low 30'sF at night low 50'sF during the day. And had frost 1 night.The older 1 still looks good but the new ones's leaves have browned & wilting, stocks still look healthy.Is this normal??The big question is when to wrap? Is the young 1 a right off??The temps here can take a dramatic drop without notice.

1. do I wait it out untill all leaves drop.

2. Do I wrap them with leaves still healthy???

If you respond please remember it can be nice 1 day then drop to freezing the next.

Please help me out. These are my mother inlaws trees.Father inlaw passed I have inherited the responsibilities and she is losing faith in me LOL....mid 50F all day today frost tonight. I got to get it right this winter.....

Comments (34)

• fignut
    16 years ago

jimcarp, After reading your other post, it seems that your trees are mature trees. Their dying back to the roots doesn't change that - it doesn't hurt them much. So you don't have to worry as much about them dying. If they were newly planted one and two year old cuttings, they would be less able to cope with cold weather. But unprotected, mature, hardened fig trees will take 20 degree F (about -7 degrees Celsius) without damage.