Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
christienj_gw

Fungus hydrangea??

ChristieNJ
12 years ago

Hi everyone! I am EXTREMELY new to gardening, we just bought our first house and bought flowers for landscaping 2 weeks ago. I bought healthy hydrangeas, but now I believe I have a fungus. I went to Lowe's today and got a fungicide, and sprayed it on the hydrangea.

The leaves did have that powdery look to them. They look wet in the pics because I sprayed the fungicide on them. I was watering every day, which I didn't know I shouldn't have been. OOPS.

How long does it generally take to work?

Should I snip off the flowers?

HELP! lol

Any help or info would be GREATLY appreciated!

Christie

Here are two pics:

Comments (3)

• luis_pr
    12 years ago

It depends on how strong of an infestation you have so I would continue following the instructions until you see progress; 2-4 weeks maybe? The hot summer temperatures should help self correct the problem soon. Watering the soil and not the leaves will also help but I would not be surprised if the powdery mildew originated from the nursery or wholesaler. They place the pots close to each other so watering takes less time (HD).

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    12 years ago

I doubt you have much of an issue - powdery mildew is more of a cosmetic concern than it is a serious health issue with the plant.