Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kernul

Big trees in hydro

kernul
17 years ago

Hi folks;

I dont have any experience with hydro, but have been thinking about it for a while now. so after reading about it on the internet and going through a book, i'm going to jump in with a "bubbler system" (roots submerged in nutrient, air pumped in to supply oxygen) simply because its a neat little stand-alone system and i can put it out on the balcony as well if i need to.

But the plants I've choosen aren't very hydro-friendly, or maybe nobody has tried it. I got seeds for:

Chinese elm. Banyan tree. English Oak. Giant redwood. Coastal redwood. Dwarf Pine. and Trident maple.

It'll be an experiment, if nothing else...somehow veggies don't excite me at all.

I live in London, and since its quite warm i can have them out on the balcony so i'm not thinking of getting lights at the moment. I have lived in a tropical country all my life, and only just moved to the UK so i have no experience with decidious trees anyway. Am I headed for disaster? Should I get a flood & drain system? Start them off under lights to begin with?

Most of them have extensive stratification periods, so i might have some time to go before anything happens.

Anybody have an experience with any kind of trees in hydro? I'm going to keep a blog, so if you're interested you can follow the developments, if any.

Any thoughts are highly appriciated. Thanks.

Comments (11)

• utsharpie
    17 years ago

well, when the trees get big youll definately need some type of support system since their roots wont be anchored in deep soil.

but yes you can grow trees in hydro.

• tomster
    17 years ago

Hi Kernul,

Try doing an internet search for "Hydroculture", this is the term for the type of hydroponics commonly used for growing sub-tropical plants and trees.

Cheers,

Tom.

• kernul
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks guys...
    I'll look up hydroculture.