Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
woollady

what type of lite and fixture

woollady
9 years ago

hello to all, i am an absolute rookie to growing under lites and am getting ery confused.i hae a 4 shelf metal unit that is 36" long and 13" deep.can't find any 36" long t-8 bulbs.and the fixtures i saw at HD online did not describe which type of bulbs they can take.i want to grow african violets on one shelf,phalaenopsis orchids on another,and succulents on another shelf.can you gie me recconendationf to use and where to buy?is there a good site i can go to learn more other than here?any help and suggestions would be very appreciated.thank you all for your time.

Comments (16)

• Pyewacket
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Is it a wire shelf, or some other type? I ask because it helps to know what you have to work with as far as hanging lights off that shelf.

How tall is the shelf, and how much space between shelves? How many shelves do you want to fit with lights?

Also is there a reason you are limited to a 3' wide shelf as opposed to a 4' wide shelf? Is it just the shelf you have, or is there a space limit - such that a wider shelf won't fit in the space you have?

To my knowledge there are no 3' fixtures, but there are 18" fixtures. You could mount them end to end. It would be more expensive than a single 4' fixture, however. The bulbs are also more expensive, you have fewer options as far as light output and color temperature, and they can be hard to find.

• 2h1o
    9 years ago

Zensojourner presented some good questions in the above post.

If you really require a 3ft.fixture, there are a few t5ho fixtures available on the market (although they would probably have to be ordered online). Depending on your budget, one example would be the Sunblaster F39T5-HO one-lamp fixture without reflector (prices vary - around the ballpark price of approx. $25 without shipping). This fixture has a fairly good "optional" reflector that is easy to install.