Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sherrygirl5

I'm a newbie

I everyone! Ive been checking out pictures and such and finally decided to join Garden Web. I have been gardening in my yard for over 20 years, learning through trial and error. My favorites are hostas, of course , and daylilies. Thought i would ask a question about something i have never tried. I am about 50 miles west of chicago, zone 5, and have seen posts about growing hostas in pots. Havent tried that and dont know anyone that has. Whats the skinny on that? What do you do with them in the winter?

Comments (10)

• bkay2000
    9 years ago

Welcome, Sherry.

Let the colder zone folks speak to your hosta in pots question. My hosta in pots are a totally different animal that yours will be.

bk

• hostatakeover swMO
    9 years ago

Welcome, Sherry.

I can't help on this one but I'm waiting to hear some of the answers, especially what is done with them in the winter. Never had much luck overwintering Hostas in pots.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

welcome...

in witner in snow load places.. you tiip them on their sides... to avoid water accumulations...

if you freeze a hosta into an ice cube.. it will die ... roots need air.. as much as moisture ...

the danger period is near thaw in late winter.. when temps fluctuate between warm and cold ..

beyond that.. it wouldnt hurt to have a black pot.. not laying in sunshine.. even in winter ... as in warm spells.. the roots might come out of dormancy.. while the part above is dormant ...

i like to say.. about plants in general ... going in and out of dormancy is a problem ... get them dormant.. and keep them dormant.. as long as you can ...

if you saw all the posts.. then you know where to find more in depth info.. try the GW search.. of google.. they will pop up.. and there is nothing specific to hosta in pots.. so any info.. on any plant.. left outside in winter.. should all be along the same lines ....