Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zeewire

vermiculite in NJ

ZeeWire
19 years ago

I'm a newbie at this, and I would like to start a New Vegetable garden. Does anyone know of any place in NJ, preferably in Union County that sales Vermiculite and compost?

(the closer to Union township the better)

Thanks in Advance!!

ZeeWire

Comments (12)

• birdgardner
    19 years ago

Vermiculite is very pricey to put in the ground - do you really need it? Union county clay is greatly improved by compost alone - I used to garden there. call up your town hall and ask if there is a town or county compost program. If not, try the local garden centers.

• kdjoergensen
    19 years ago

I second the advice above. All you need is compost. Just mix a 2-3" layer into the top 8-12" of soil. You do not need vermiculite in the ground.

• Lynne_in_Linden
    19 years ago

I too have been looking for vermiculite.... ZeeWire, by any chance are you trying to make Mel's Mix? (Square Foot Gardening) I am, and Bartell's Farm Supply on Central Ave, Clark told me there's "a problem with the process" and it's hard to get, whatever that means. I resorted to using a mixture of compost and peat moss only. We'll see how that works. If you have any luck, I'd still like to know where to find it and how much it cost you.
    Lynne

• kdjoergensen
    19 years ago

Try adding about 20% perlite instead. That helps with the drainage. Don't layer it, but mix it thoroughly into the soil mix.

• ZeeWire
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks for the replies everyone.

Lynne: Yes, my intention was to create Mel's Mix for the SFG, mine is 12in high and 4x12, so I needed 1/3 of Vermiculite (around 16CF) but after I found it in a couple places I realized is was way too expensive to use, as the bags were quite small (not even 0.5cf) and I would need "too many".

So my approach was to create it using 1/3 Peat Moss 1/3 Composted Cow Manure/Humus & 1/3 Top Soil instead. Let's hope it works.

• evan1