Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carmen_peterson

Seeds sources

Carmen Peterson
11 years ago

OK first off thank you for all the wonderful info. It has been very helpful.

Secondly I have started to harvest my flower seeds thanks again to GW for the info on how to do that and what to look for. But I am just starting out and was wondering what were the best sources for seeds. I have grown very interested in heirloom seeds and saw they have and exchange forum but since I do not have anything to trade yet I will have to purchase for the next spring season. I usually just get the hybrid seeds from lowes, homedepot and wally world. To my understanding if I harvest those seeds it can be a hit or miss? I may not get the same variety? Anyways, where do you get your seeds from? How far in advance should I plan to buy?

Comments (12)

• elkwc
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Carmen,
    If you are growing op/heirloom varieties they will grow true regardless of where you buy the seeds. Hybrids will grow true in the F1 growout and then be a mix after that. I have never paid much attention to the flowers the big box stores offer. I know they offer some open pollinated/heirloom veggies. I could list several sources I use for vegetable seeds if you are interested in growing them. As for flower seeds there will be some of the experts along that can list better sources than I can. I usually just purchase mine from the same sources I buy vegetable seeds from. I've started trying to have most of my seeds by New Years. Many seed companies have been running out the last few years due to demand. Jay

• jcatblum
    11 years ago

I love baker creek & sub stainable seed co. Baker has the prettiest catalog!!!! They seem to get the largest portion of my seed puraches.
    Locally I get seed from Ross seed in Chickasha. Very affordable seed, much cheaper than catolog prices IMO.

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    11 years ago