Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hundredpetals

Advice on exhibition roses for a potential exhibitor?

hundredpetals
18 years ago

Hi I'm new to the forum, in fact I'm new to roses. Last fall I fell in love with them, dug up my yard, and put in a hundred (I'm slightly compulsive). And as I was enjoying the spring flush I thought perhaps I should consider showing some of these pretties. But my research revealed I didn't plant exhibition HT's; just lots of wonderful Austins to decorate the Modern Shrubs table. So I'm going to evict some overgrown geraniums and add perhaps 4 or 6 exhibition rose bushes.

I thought perhaps instead of planting some tried and true HT's, I should take this opportunity to discover perhaps the next "Gemini" or "Moonstone" for my area, which is Pasadena, in SoCal.

I spoke with Calvin Boutte at Johnny Becnel Show Roses yesterday (great gentleman). He says Cajun Moon and Marilyn Monroe do really well in SoCal. When I inquired about new and little known HT's, he still thought I should get Cajun Moon and Marilyn Monroe, but he also suggested Straight Arrow, Tabatha, Johnny Becnel, Here's Gert, and Here's Sam.

Since I am such a novice, I was hoping some experienced rosarians could tell me about some of the roses that was mentioned, or suggest other new/little known exhibition roses that I could experiment with, and perhaps I could share my results and experiences here so that other exhibitors could benefit?

Comments (14)

• blsmith
    18 years ago

hundredpetals,

Two MUST haves:

1. Purchase and read - Bob Martin's book "Showing Good Roses"
    2. Subscribe to the Rose Exhibitors' Forum - you will see what is winning in your area.

(Find both on the link below)

Are you a member of a rose society? You can learn tons from members who exhibit roses. Attend shows, bring your roses, enter the novice classes and let the fun begin!