Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phoebola

walls o water

phoebola
15 years ago

Hi everybody. I am trying WOWS for the first time, on peppers eggplant tomatoes melons, etc. When should I remove them, and how do I store them? Thanks.

Comments (6)

• gjmancini
    15 years ago

I use to use them all the time, and just have gotten lazy. I would start them mid to late april, have them closed all the way on the top, and as the weather gets warmer open them up them up more and more on the top. I usually had mine off the first to second week in June. (just because in colorado we have no spring, we go from snow to hot)
    STORAGE. Get all the water out, lay flat, roll, secure with rubber band.

• highalttransplant
    15 years ago

I bought a package of them this year, but I didn't start my tomatoes early enough to use them. This is my first year to grow tomato plants from seed, so I wasn't sure how fast they would grow.

If you are past your area's last frost date, I would think it is safe to remove them. Are they open on the top yet?

Bonnie

• phoebola
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Hi, GJmancini & Bonnie.

Thank you for the responses.

It's my first time trying the walls-o-water. I had heard that using talc powder during storage is a good idea, but I couldn't decide exactly where to put the powder & how much to use. It sounds like you don't worry that, right GJmancini?

Our last frost date is June 1, so I will wait a bit before removing them -- I have opened them all at the top. I was thinking of leaving them on the melons and squashes until June 12 (the day before I go to Botswana), but taking them off the tomatoes next weekend.

I wish they made smaller ones (smaller diameter) so that they would fit more nicely in my tiny square foot gardens (3X3). I've never seen smaller ones, have you? I guess I could use cloches but the WOW just seem so much easier.

It certainly got cold here last night, though once again the grey skies do not seem to be yielding any rain.