Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ernie85017

1st rooting attempt

Hello! Newbie here.

I came across a Lady Banks Rose and snitched a branch. Read up quickly on rooting roses and put MANY into plastic milk carton pots with holes. A mix of compost-y dirt, sand, and perlite. I didn't have any rooting hormone, so didn't hope for much.

Many died, but I have quite a few which are growing leaves! Even little branches. I am so amazed it worked for me and my black thumb.

Are they ready to go into real potting soil and a pot to grow larger? It has been around 3 weeks.

Or should I wait until they have had time to grow a lot of roots to support the mix around them so it doesn't fall away when removed from the rooting pots?

They are in a plastic tent and are watered every 2 days, as it is very dry here.

Comments (6)

• grandmothers_rose z6b
    11 years ago

I recently had a few cuttings root in the bottom of styro cups filled with a light potting mix similar to yours. The ones that were two to a cup I VERY carefully separated and put in separate cups, with about an inch more dirt under the roots. Using advice from Roseseek, I'm going to tip them out of the cups about once a week and add more dirt under the roots, so they gradually have more stem above ground and more room to grow roots. I may be going a bit slow on this, but these are my first babies and I am being extra careful.

I don't know if you can tip your new roses out of the plastic cartons as easily as I can from the styro cups. I tried tipping out the (dead) cuttings in my plastic milk cartons and didn't have much success. I don't know if milk cartons are "less slidey" or if it was because they had no roots to hold the soil.

Milk cartons are a pretty good size, bigger than the bands that are shipped to me with well branched roses. I expect you could leave them in there for "a while," at least until you see a good number of roots in the bottom of the milk carton.