Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deannatoby

Great seed saving 'container'?

I'm new to seed saving, but I make the little envelopes that have been posted on GW forums before for saving my seed. I make my "envelopes" out of coffee filters. The filters are $1 for a large package, and they are breathable. I thought it might be a great way to save seeds and help them not mold from retained moisture.

I'm new, but if this seems like a good idea, please both let me know and pass the idea along. If the idea isn't good, let me know now!

Thanks!

Comments (8)

• pippi21
    13 years ago

What are you using for a pattern? Can we have a "Show and tell" demonstration? Seems like you'd waste a lot of the coffee filter, so maybe you can convince me otherwise. Are they white or the khaki colored ones or does it make a difference? With a regular piece of computer paper or even newspaper print, you are able to seal off the opening but it seems like that would be more difficult using the coffee filter taking into consideration the texture of the filter. I'm a little dense at times, show me. I'm not doubting you, but just want to understand the concept thoroughly.

• albert_135   39.17°N 119.76°W 4695ft.
    13 years ago

I hadn't thought about it but the cone shaped filters should be easy to label, fold over and staple. I was collecting the last of my poppy seed this morning and thinking how am I going to save these tiny little things. A conical filter might have worked just fine. The basket shaped filters I use would require at lest as much work as used computer paper.

• deanna in ME Barely zone 6a, more like 5b
    Original Author
    13 years ago

I'm giving a link to the 'Show and Tell' thread.