Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
craigode

Overkill?

craigode
13 years ago

Been gardening for years, this is my first attempt at a sqft raised bed. I've planted cowpeas (a family favorite) in a 4x8 bed. The seed package recommends 3" spacing, which allows for 12 or so in a square. They have all sprouted and are about 2-3" tall now and I can't believe how many plants this makes in such a small area. My beds are deep- 10-12" with a mixture of rotted cow manure, compost, and a little plain old "dirt." Do I need to thin these guys out a little or just give her a try? Obviously, I'm looking to get maximum harvest but I don't want the plants to crowd each other out either. Help, please! thanks

Comments (7)

• sfgkimroman
    13 years ago

Actually 3" spacing is 18 plants per square foot so you've "underplanted" if you only put in 12 per square. : ) Since a 4x8 = 32 squares and you can plant 18 per square, you could have planted 576 plants.

My only "concern" is that there might not be enough "air space" for your roots in your soil mix which is why the "real" SFG method doesn't use the existing "dirt" but a mix of 1/3 peat moss, 1/3 coarse vermiculite & 1/3 blended compost (4-5 sources) to aid in water retention and keep enough air space in the soil. This also allows you to grow in just 6" depth of mix.

You may want to take this opportunity to experiment a bit. Keep some squares at the 18/square level, some at 12/square, and a few at 8/square. This way you can see what works best for you.

WOW! I can't even imagine a 4x8 of cowpeas. As a general "rule of thumb" a 4x4 gives 1 adult salad for a season (16 different crops). Another 4x4 gives 1 adult supper veggies for a season (again 16 different crops). A third 4x4 gives 1 adult extra for canning/freezing/sharing, etc.

Let us know how it goes.

• snibb
    13 years ago