Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nancy_east_gw

Can pumpkins just hang over the side?

nancy_east
15 years ago

I am new to SFG this year and have learned volumes from this forum just be lurking! I am now in need of some help with a question about pumpkin planting. I don't have the room in my bed to let them roam freely (I'm planting Small Sugar) and I don't need a large yield--honestly, I'm planting them to satisfy the curiousity of my 5-year-old son and to maybe get lucky and harvest 1 or 2 for baking! So my question is this: I have already allocated the space on my trellising for pumpkins and cucumbers and don't really have the space to include the pumpkins. Is it unreasonable to plant the pumpkin seeds in a square on the side of the south side of the bed and let the vine overhang the side of the bed wall and trail on the ground beside it? Is that just setting myself up for the vine breaking or other problems? I was thinking about laying down a tarp beside the bed so they could trail without being directly on the mulch (don't know why--just seemed like a good idea).

I guess I'm curious if the same question could be applied to summer squash and zucchini as well. I have alloted the recommended 9 sq. ft. per each plant but if they overtake that space, can they overhang the bed as well?

Thanks in advance!

Comments (10)

• carolynp
    15 years ago