Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrswaz

How often or how many times should I pot up?

mrswaz
16 years ago

This is my first time growing tomatoes from seed, and so far I am thrilled at how easy it is! I planted on April 7th, and over the next week most sprouted. I potted up all the seedlings to 4-inch pots just last week on the 17th. They are doing incredible! I have true leaves on most plants, and I cannot believe how healthy they look.

They're getting so tall already though- and while it's only been 5 days since I repotted, I wonder how often I should do it. When I re-potted, I buried most of the stems, leaving just a smidge under the first leaves. Now they already stand 2-3 inches up, and I don't want them to get leggy. Is there something I should be looking for so I know when to re-pot again? They are all heirlooms if that makes a difference.

Comments (10)

• dave1mn2
    16 years ago

I would wait another week and any time you can get them outside in 50+F, dappled sun and a light breeze for an hr. or so I would.

• eplina
    16 years ago

wait for alittle while.

Here is a link that might be useful: GrowingHeirloomTomatoes

• digdirt2
    16 years ago

Is there something I should be looking for so I know when to re-pot again? Signs that they are getting root bound. Such as needing daily watering or even more often. Since you went up to 4" pots already getting root bound probably won't be a problem but you can always pop them out of the containers and check the root development.

You have what? - another month before you can plant out? If that is the case then I'd wait another 10 days before re-potting if they don't appear to be getting root bound before then.

Question: you say you have 3" tall ones that don't yet have true leaves? If so then they are already leggy and aren't getting enough light. Increase the amount (not length of time but amount) if possible.

Dave

• mrswaz
    Original Author
    16 years ago