Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clipetyclop

Impossible to grow lilies?

clipetyclop
16 years ago

I've fallen in love with Lilies and would like to try to grow some- i'm new to Texas- and would like to know if I can try this with success- as it gets insanely hot in the summer.

What types (if any) lilies should I try for?

Thanks!

Comments (26)

• justintx
    16 years ago

I've had Lillehamer Hybrids growing for 2 years (got them at Lowes) and they've done great. Maybe I've just been lucky.

This is last year:

• sylviatexas1
    16 years ago

Gosh, those are gorgeous!

I've seen beautiful amaryllis & its relatives (crinums & schoolhouse lilies) in your area.

• birdbite
    16 years ago

Justintx, your bed is gorgeous! Is the purple leafed plant a smoke tree? And what is the fluffy green "tree" in the background of your yard? It looks so pretty!

• birdbite
    16 years ago

Forgot to add - the only lily luck I've had is with daylilies. My mother-in-law grows Easter lilies in her yard though and they do very well.

• justintx
    16 years ago

'Is the purple leafed plant a smoke tree? And what is the fluffy green "tree" in the background of your yard?'

Birdbite - it is a smoke tree, but I removed it this winter. Just didn't do well when the temps rose in the summer. The 'fluffy' tree is a weeping Montezuma cypress (Taxodium mucronatum). It is one of my favorites. I'm amazed looking at this photo at how much it grew last year.

• cweathersby
    16 years ago

There is one kind of lily that is bullet proof in Texas - Formosa lily. The leaves look like grass but then it bolts up to 7 feet tall and blooms its head off in August. Mine is in a part shade location which doesn't seem to bother it at all.

Here is a link that might be useful: dave's garden

• rick_mcdaniel
    16 years ago

I have grown several varieties of lilies with no problem. I am especially fond of my Stargazers.

• random_harvest
    16 years ago