Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katiep508

Shipment smell?

katiep508
13 years ago

Hello all. I am very new to vermicomposting- in fact my first worms just arrived via UPS hours ago. I've been searching the web all night long trying to figure out if the stench with my worms are normal, but everything I've been finding seems to say "no". They were outside for about 1/2 an hour in 85 degree weather before I got them. I followed the instructions for watering and setting up a box for them, but frankly I am very worried they aren't even alive. I don't even really see anything that looks like a worm, but the instructions say they lose a lot of water during shipping and can look "shriveled"

I'm hoping for a miracle overnight, but thought maybe I could get some opinions here? Not sure if any of you even get worms via mail, but if you do, does it all stink?

Thanks so much and I look forward to learning from you all!

Katiep

Comments (11)

• sbryce_gw
    13 years ago

Your worms died in shipment, probably as they sat outside at your home.

The package and contents should have no discernible smell. Upon opening it, you should have seen what was obviously a thick ball of worms inside whatever bedding they were packed in.

Here is a link that might be useful: This is what my worms looked like when I unpacked them:

• antoniab
    13 years ago

I don't think 1/2 hour would do it. I am guessing they were hot and dry the whole way. I would contact the company you bought from (I am guessing Uncle Jim's, with the comment about watering them) and tell them what you received, and get a refund.
    Here is a page with some worm suppliers in the Boston/Cambridge area, but if that is not where you are, you can google for local suppliers.

I am so sorry to hear about your worms! Hopefully you can get started soon!!

Here is a link that might be useful: Boston Worms

• katiep508
    Original Author
    13 years ago