Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
trudymom_gw

Gob Filling Suggestions, Please??

trudymom
16 years ago

I am planning to make some gobs this week using devil's food cake mix as the cookie part. I'd like to fill them with different fillings. What would your suggestions be for the fillings?

Thank you!

Comments (6)

• Dee1
    16 years ago

What are gobs?

• trudymom
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Here's a recipe similar to what I am using except I am using devil's food cake mix.

Here is a link that might be useful: Gobs

• anniebpa
    16 years ago

Here in central Pa., we call them "whoopie pies" rather than "gobs," and they're regularly available at farmer's markets and even grocery stores. The commercial icing is usually the super-sweet confect. sugar/crisco type, but I like mine better. Here's the recipe I've been using for about 25 years:

FRENCH CREAM FROSTING for WHOOPIE PIES

3/4 c. milk
    3 tbsp flour
    3/4 c. crisco
    3/4 c. sugar (granulated, not confectioners')
    1 tsp vanilla
    3/4 tsp salt

Combine milk and flour in saucepan. Use whisk to blend well. Cook over medium heat until thickened, stirring constantly. Set pan aside and let cool to room temp.

Cream other ingredients together (the KA mixer does a good job of incorporating the sugar into the crisco); add cooled milk/flour mixture. Mix together until all is combined. Frosting is whipped cream-like but with more body to it, and it's not too sweet.

Hope you get a chance to try it! (P.S. This recipe, along with one for the chocolate cake-type cookies, came from an old cookbook put together by a church women's group.)

• trudymom
    Original Author
    16 years ago

anniebpa, thank you for the filling recipe for your whoopie pies. It sounds wonderful and I will try it. Could you also possibly share your recipe for the cookie part??

Thank you!

• anniebpa
    16 years ago