Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newdawn1895

Has anyone ever published a successful book?

newdawn1895
14 years ago

I am writing a book and I need to find out how to get it published. I need step by step advice, could anyone help? It's a killer book, that I have poured my heart and soul into. Actually I am still writing it, and for all I know it could be a piece of junk and I am just being bias. Since I haven't let anyone look at it yet.

I don't expect Simon & Schuster to come a calling, or have Robert Redford or Miramax begging for the movie rights. Of course if your going to dream, dream big.

Or maybe I could capture a James Conn like Kathy Bates did in Misery to rewrite it. No one would ever find Mr. Man out here.

Seriously, has anyone of you ever written a book and had it published? There are so many good writers on here and I would like to know.

...Jane

Comments (12)

• happyintexas
    14 years ago

Not me, but friends have. I'm an aspiring writer working on her novel. (I have published magazine articles.) I hang out with bunches of like minded folks in a writer's group.

That's what I recommend you find...a read and critique writer's group to begin with. They will hear you read your book (in pieces) and give you feedback on what works and what isn't. Valuable advice! Google writer's groups in your town or county. Ask at the library--those folks know lots about writers! Some groups are better than others. Find one that's supportive, kind, and brutally honest. You'll be a better writer for it!

Then, through them you can find writer's conferences where you can meet editors and agents...they are the true gatekeepers of the industry.

Best wishes! I fun to follow a dream!

• newdawn1895
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you happyintexas, I will google it. There have been many successful writers here in Alabama. And I have heard that Harper Lee sometimes sneaks in at the back of the Mockingbird book club.

• Ideefixe
    14 years ago