Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fishstix_gw

Crack in Granite, or not?

fishstix
11 years ago

Hi Everyone. This is my first time posting here. Lots of useful info on this site so thought I would ask for your help. I'm buying a house in a planned community and just had the granite installed. I noticed a hairline 'crack' near the faucet hole cut-out. I am not concerned about the visual aspect of it because it is barely noticeable. But it is in a water prone area and worried about the structural integrity. Could anyone with experience on this matter give me their input? If it was a fissure or vein, would it go all the way through? The rest of the granite doesnt have any similar markings and looks so nice I'd hate to have to replace it. We pick the color but the builder picks out the slab without our input. The color is Giallo Napoleon.

Comments (9)

• fishstix
    Original Author
    11 years ago

The 'crack' extends through the cut-out

• fishstix
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Showing a broader perspective of location. Closing date is in October so appreciate any opinions. Should I let it be or make a fuss over it?

• ellendi
    11 years ago

It can be repaired, so yes make a fuss and have it done.

• ginny20
    11 years ago

I think it looks inherent to the stone - a natural fissure - and not a problem. But I'm not an expert by any means. Making a fuss should get someone out there who is an expert and can explain whether it is a crack or a fissure, and why. So I think a fuss is not a bad idea.

• fishstix
    Original Author
    11 years ago