Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kateskouros

what to do w/sterling flatware if not washing right away

kateskouros
9 years ago

last year after we finished dinner i used a large tupperware container filled with warm water to hold all the silver until i had a chance to hand wash it later in the evening. needless to say, it was a pretty late night for me and i was exhausted.

i don't really want to do that again this year. what is the best way to hold over the sterling until i can hand wash the next day? soaking in water really worked well since any acids it may have come in contact with never had a chance to create any dark spots - but is it okay to leave it submerged overnight?

Comments (11)

• Shelley Graham
    9 years ago

I've been putting my silver in the dishwasher for 43 years. My mom has put hers in the dishwasher for 65 years. No problems with any of it. This only works, of course, if you have a d/w! DH doesn't like to let the hollow handle knives go in, so he washes them by hand - otherwise, everything else goes.

As for your original question, if you still want to wash by hand, soaking overnight should by just fine.

• kateskouros
    Original Author
    9 years ago

thanks. just wanted to check since i obviously don't want to harm it. i put it in the dishwasher once but didn't like the way it turned out, as it wasn't really shiny.i ended up hand washing again anyway.

when you put yours in the DW, do you use detergent? i'm thinking maybe that's why it didn't turn out well; maybe using detergent isn't such a great idea.

• rococogurl
    9 years ago

I've always put the used ends in warm water. It can stay that way certainly overnight. Once or twice it's been longer. If longer, just change the water till you get to it.

• kitchendetective
    9 years ago