Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mike_wyatt

time to pot up?

Mike Wyatt
9 years ago
last modified: 9 years ago

This is my first time attempting to grow hot peppers from seed or even grow anything at all for that matter. I have received great input and read much helpful information from this site and would like to thank everyone who participates here.

That being said, I moved my seedlings from their tray about two weeks ago and put them in 3" clear solo cups. They have really started growing fast. I can now see many roots through the sides and bottoms of the pots. Do I need to pot up again now?

I'm still about six weeks from the last freeze here in utah and believe I'm going to need more lights and space much sooner than that. I wasn't expecting to have such a high success rate of germination and also expected to lose more seedlings after initial transplant. Thank you garden web. Here's some picks of my brand new babies.

Carolina reapers, devils tongue, ghost, Trinidad scorpions.

• The light is generally much closer, it hangs from a hinged lid for easy access to watering and of course taking pics.

Comments (9)

• Mike Wyatt
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Ok apparently I missed some info, just read some negative comments on somebody else's thread about using clear plastic cups. Guessing I'll be re potting this weekend. So far have been really happy with my plant growth and figured the clear plastic would help to keep me from over watering as I bottom water.

Any thoughts on clear plastic would be appreciated as well.

• ronnyb123
    9 years ago

But did you also read you could just drop the clear cups into red colored cups. This way you can watch the roots grow and keep them from burning at the same time.

Mike Wyatt thanked ronnyb123
  • ryang23
    9 years ago