Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sistereinstein

Question on sowing seed indoors using starter kit

Hi Everyone - I'm a noob gardener and am attempting to grow from seed. I bought a seed starter kit that has 6 cells per section, totaling 72 cells in a flat.

Do I sow one seed per flat, or 2-3 as instructed on the seed kit?

I'll be growing McKana's Giant Columbine mix, Paradisio Coneflower mix, Lavender Lady and Trailing Soapwort.

I'm hoping to grow first flowering perennials but it's frustrating when the seeds in the store doesn't actually state that it does.

Any advice would be appreciated,

Comments (7)

• grubby_AZ Tucson Z9
    9 years ago

Their 2 to 3 seed suggestion is only a suggestion. Since many seeds are cheap and/or plentiful, and an empty cell is a lost opportunity, you might plant two or three seeds per cell and later, when the seedlings are looking like they're going to make it well, you thin each cell to the strongest seeming one plant each. Expensive or scarce seeds might go one-to-a-cell and you risk having unpopulated cells later, after a reasonable germination interval.

• sistereinstein (Z5a WI)
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you Grubby and Dave! This was really useful information.

Original Author
    9 years ago

Good Morning! So I decided to only plant Lavender Lady, Trailing Soapwodt and the McKana's Columbine Mix. All 12 cells of the Soapwoap sprouted, 6 are over 1-1/2" tall.

From what I've read it's time to put those out of the domed starter tray and under lights. If you all think it's too early just let me know. They are in a south facing window that is blocked by a free for a few hours.

I would like to hear your thoughts on the current light source

http://www.amazon.com/verilux-CFML27VLX-Natural-Spectrum-Replacement/dp/B000E841LM

Thank you most kindly for your feedback!

• digdirt2
    9 years ago