Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amylyann01

red bromeliad bloom is drying up

Amyly Ann
8 years ago

I have a cherry red bromeliad (no water tank). I bought it about 2 months back and it was already bloomed. At that time I didn't know that they are supposed to bloom only once! I just thought the bloom would remain and the leaves turn green from red slowly and thats how my plant would grow (yes..it may be silly...I'm new to this).

So now my bloom is drying....from red it has now gone to brown. I am watering it on the basis of soil....if its dry...i water...if it still looks wet...i don't. What should be my next step? I cant see any pups...I don't want it to die completely! I also mist it once of twice a day!

The rest of the leaves look green and healthy so far. Appreciate all the help.

Comments (10)

• splinter1804
    8 years ago

Hi everyone.

Amyly Ann - From your description, your plant sounds like a Guzmania, however a photo is a very big help when you are seeking advice so we all know that we're talking about the same thing. Could you post a picture please so we can more accurately advise on what you should do.

All the best, Nev.

• Amyly Ann
    Original Author
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

Sorry for the delay....here are the photos. From my internet search, I too felt its a red cherry guzmania. But I just a newbie...so it would be great if you can verify and advice. The brownish red bloom, used to be nice red when I bought this!

• lynngun
    8 years ago

The plant still looks healthy. You may have to wait for the pups so keep an eye on it.
    That is a nice plant you have there.
    L.G.

• splinter1804
    8 years ago

Hi everyone.