Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andy_e

Two shower tile repair questions

andy_e
8 years ago

I have a couple tile issues I need advice on. Thanks in advance for your help!

First, what's the right way to repair this crack in the grout? I don't mind doing the work myself and I'm handy but I'm new to the tile game.

Wider shot so you can see where it is:

Second, we've had some of the small tiles in the shower pan separate from their matrix. What's the process for securing them back in place?

Comments (11)

• PRO
    By Any Design Ltd.
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

Oh boy. My gut reaction is your shower curb has been made from wood and is swelling. I suspect you have a traditional shower design and the installer screwed a backer board into the shower curb or the holes drilled in the shower curb by the glass guys is letting water in. Then after using the shower it is slowly getting wet. This is causing the tile to heave and the grout to fail. What happens when you tap on the tile? Does it sound hollow or solid?

Resetting the floor tile can be tricky and not knowing how the floor was prepared can create issues during the repair. What style water proofing did your guys use? A picture of the drain might give us some clues as to what floor assembly you have.

Do you know how the shower curb was made?

Did you flood test your shower?

Did you soak test your tile?

With out a soak test we do not know if the glue holding the tile in place is water based. If it is I suspect that you will become and expert in time at resetting the small tile in place. Can you place any spare tile you have in some water and let that sit a day. What happens when you lift out the tile? is the back side sticky and white? Do the tiles fall off easy?

• andy_e
    Original Author
    8 years ago

Thanks for the response John.