Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jay_part_shade

Best Place to Buy Avocados: Clausen in Vista

For anyone lurking who's wondering where to buy great avocado trees not found at the big box places, check out Clausen: http://clausennursery.com/. I've been buying from Clausen for a few years now and wanted to give them a shout out. Easily the best prices on fruit trees. They are one of those "wholesale open to the public" deals -- talk to Ray, he'll hook you up with 15 gallon trees of any of the main kinds of avocados, including Sir Prize and Lamb Hass. They don't carry the heirloom avos like Sharwil, but with prices like $60 for a 15 gallon, it's hard to beat (normally, a 15 would go for $150+). I probably have 20 trees from them -- citrus, deciduous, berries, everything.

http://clausennursery.com/

Comments (12)

• Suzi AKA DesertDance So CA Zone 9b
    8 years ago

I like Atkins in Fallbrook better. It's closer to me and they do carry the heirloom avos. $25.00 for a 5 gallon.

• PKG
    8 years ago

Bought my Tarocco Orange as ,shown on this forum, from Ray in late May. He was the only guy that I could find that had one ready to sell. Great service and price. He even helped me load it in the truck. Says he has people come all the way from Sacramento to buy Citrus from him.

8 years ago

Jay, I think you did recommend it to me. It's thriving in ground close to my big seedling avocado. I went back to Atkins and got a Jan Boyce. It's in a huge container, and I plan to top work that seedling tree with Jan Boyce so we have two good trees.

• Jay Part Shade (Zone 10B, S21, Los Angeles)
    Original Author
    8 years ago