Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sabrinatx

Master bathroom design can it be better (xposted)

sabrinatx
8 years ago

I've crossed posted this in the bathroom forums but theres not that much traffic. I have a small master bathroom planned but I am just wondering if there is a better layout option for this tight space. The interior room is 8 x 14. I cant not enlarge the room at all. I also can not take space from the safe storage room or bedroom.The plan is to have a clawfoot/slipper tub, a separate shower and dual sinks.

Is the best layout or could it be better.

Comments (20)

• User
    8 years ago

I would switch the toilet for the shower, put a window next to the toilet and make the shower larger. Hopefully there are windows above the tub.

• AnnKH
    8 years ago

I don't have any good layout suggestions, but I would not do a double sink in a tiny bathroom. I would much rather have storage and counter space.

Now, about your closets - 5 feet is not wide enough to hang clothes on both sides (I believe the recommended is 6'). The smaller closet could be a walk-in, if you moved the door to the center, and put rods on both sides. The big one either needs to be a foot deeper, or converted to a reach-in - but I'll bet you were planning to put the bed on that wall.

• sabrinatx
    Original Author
    8 years ago

JDS - Yes there will be a window where ever the tub goes. You're saying put the shower on the interior wall. I'm not thrilled with the angled shower and would rather have a rectangular shower.

AnnKH- The closet will be fine for us. The larger closet will be mine and I'm planning an L shape so there will be plenty of room for me to walk into the closet and get what I need. I can not waste any more square footage on a room that I'm only going to use to store clothes in. An no the bed will go between the windows and built ins will go between the closet doors. Thank you for your advice.

• arialvetica
    8 years ago