Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emisanwald

Betta fish and tetras?

emisanwald
8 years ago

Every site I look up with this topic I always end up with tetras being Neon Tetras, but in my case that's not it. I'm wondering if I can keep a Betta with my tetras in my 15 gallon tall tank. I have 8 tetras, 3 black phantoms, 3 diamond, and 2 white skirts (The third died a while back in my smaller tank). It's heavily planted with driftwood and many places to hide. Would this be total fish chaos, or not? I'm pretty new to the hobby (Hence the three different tetras) and I can't seem to get a clear answer. There was a beautiful white, iridescent Elephant ear, at Petco that I was dying to take him and not have him die. Thank you for the response.

Comments (4)

• MrBlubs
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

I wouldn't attempt it in your set up. Skirt tetras are known to be fin nippers and in such low numbers (same with the other tetras) they will be prone to fin nipping and all around rambunctious behavior. Which isn't good for a slow moving big finned Betta.

They can be kept with other tetras and other fish. I've kept them with Cardinals, ember tetras, platies, Otos, cherry barbs, Harlequin rasboras, and Cories. It all really comes down to the personality of the Betta in the end. Some can be quite peaceful and others can be quite aggressive.

Maybe if you only had a school of 6 Phantom tetras or a school of 6 Bleeding heart tetras in the tank then you could try to add a Betta. Tetras are schooling fish and are usually found in the wild in schools of hundreds. And usually when they're kept in low numbers it leads to fin nipping.

I've never had Phantom tetras so I don't know where they stand on the fin nipping scale or compatibility, but I do believe Bleeding hearts can coexist.