Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pmother

Award winning floor plan vs stock plans ?

Love stone homes
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

We are in process of looking for someone to design our future home. We made this decision After reading the many commentaries on this forum regarding stock plans.

Below is a plan designed and built locally which has just won numerous awards for its design etc,

as I am no expert re good design etc, I am asking your comments, thoughts etc.

We

Comments (35)

• One Devoted Dame
    7 years ago

My first (very honest) thought was, "THAT won an award?"

Egads.

From poor sightlines, to weird (and lost opportunity) window placement, to things that just don't "feel" right (mudroom door, kitchen peninsula seating all lined up in a row, poor kitchen arrangement, secondary bedrooms' lack of privacy relative to each other, big waste of floor space upstairs, skimpy secondary beds and closets with oversized master bed and closet, odd master suite arrangement, etc.), I can't find much I like about it.

I also envision the outside to be awkward and ugly. :-(

Love stone homes thanked One Devoted Dame
  • chicagoans
    7 years ago

I agree with One DD. I noticed the amount of space devoted to hallway on both floors, and the wasted 'open below' space in an upstairs where 2 of the bedrooms are decidedly cramped.

The stools at the counter are awkwardly close to the chairs at the table; looks like walking between would be tight.

Also I think it would be hard to park two cars in a 20x21 garage; you wouldn't have much room for opening car doors or for any storage like bikes, yard tools, etc.

Someone coming in from the garage has a long, circuitous route (through the kitchen work zone) to get to a bathroom. No fun with kids.