Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dgusner

How much you think this would cost to renovate??

Daniel G
7 years ago
Hi guys! Complete newbie here.. I'm thinking about buying this house (link below), and renovating it to give it a "new" look. The kitchen seems fine the way it is, maybe just change electric to gas stove. I'd redo all the bathrooms and do wood flooring downstairs, and carpeting on stairs and upstairs. Not sure what else is need to renovate other than that , that's why I need your help. So how much would you estimate the total cost to be? Thank you so much for any help!!!

https://www.redfin.com/CA/Cerritos/19039-Vickie-Ave-90703/home/7476528

Comments (48)

• PRO
    JAN MOYER
    7 years ago

I'd start from 175k given a rip of all baths and all that flooring. Walk a contractor through the house.

• Tina
    7 years ago
    Are you hiring the work out or doing it yourself?
  • Architectural Notice
    7 years ago
    last modified: 7 years ago

I agree with the comment to ask a contractor.

You could ask the realtor if you could walk a contractor through the house and indicate you might be interested in making an offer.

• Bailey R
    7 years ago

Whatever they tell you, add a xx% more. It ALWAYS costs more than you think.

• PRO
    JAN MOYER
    7 years ago

@ SOPHIE ............LOL X 100

• Daniel G
    Original Author
    7 years ago
    Thx guys for your comments!
    We would hire contractors... wow $175k?!
    I was estimating about $100k......
    $10k each bathroom ($30k)
    Carpet upstairs ($8k)
    Wood or laminate downstairs ($8k)
    New closet doors ($2k)
    Not sure what else lol ($52k)

Total $100k???

Am I being naive??
  • Bailey R
    7 years ago

Yes. Like I stated ... whatever you think or whatever anyone else tells you, it WILL cost more (usually quite a bit more).

• Daniel G
    Original Author
    7 years ago
    What other costs am I missing?
  • laurkade
    7 years ago