Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
angelcheex

Mirror - yay or nay?

Home
7 years ago
I'm on the fence with this mirror. I'm thinking of buying it to put over the fireplace in my formal living. It's 6 ft tall. Not sure if it's too much for the room. Thoughts?

Comments (41)

• miss lindsey (She/Her)
    7 years ago

I'm not a pro. I say do it! :)

• Bev
    7 years ago

It will help dress up the naked wall above the fireplace! Beautiful mirror!

• PRO
    BeverlyFLADeziner
    7 years ago

It wouldn't be my choice. Kind of overwhelms the scale of everything.

• leelee
    7 years ago

It's going to be hung too high to reflect anything but the white ceiling.

Go for art to add color and interest to your home.

Get rid of all the small things on the mantel--yes all of it.

• Home
    Original Author
    7 years ago
    Thanks for the feedback! The room isn't done - I just moved. Stuff on the mantel is moving (just needs a surface to hold it for now), putting art and/or a 4 ft arched mirror over the sofa. Slowly putting stuff in its place just don't have something large enough for the fireplace.
  • anitaladyrose
    7 years ago

Yes! I like it. If you like it, buy it and enjoy!

• Michelle de Guzman
    7 years ago
    I would say YAY! The mirror has a very decorative style and would be a nice focal point against that wall above your fireplace. If your fireplace design was busy then I would say no but, you have nice clean lines to work with so the mirror isn't competing or clashing with anything. It's a nice addition to the theme you're going with in your living room.
  • miss lindsey (She/Her)
    7 years ago

With one caveat: if you do this mirror over the mantle, don't use any other mirrors in the room. So art over the couch.

• Home
    Original Author
    7 years ago
    Totally agree, Lindsey! Also I love the mirror and although the mantle may or may not be the best place for it, I may just buy it and find another spot for it.
  • lovemrmewey
    7 years ago