Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rob04305598

What to do now if I have used the same soil for 6 years?

7 years ago

I have used the same potting soil over and over for 6 years in my container garden. How can I best succeed this year?
EditI live in SoCal, lot's of sun and pretty hot. Don't laugh, but I just learned about soil rotation. I have been using the same soil for 7 years, It is too late to use new soil or to dig into the soil now because my crop this year (tomatoes peppers, parsley and Basil_ are already in and doing well so far.
Last year I did fine except I was attacked relentlessly by tomato horn worms. I don't seem to have a lot of blight, but aphids, blackflies, whiteflies, yes, all of those which I fight with Neem oil and soapy water. For fertilizer I use miracle grow dissolved in water, once a week. Next year I will put more organic fertilizer into my soil but for this year, what can I add to the top of the soil that wont hurt my plants? Thank you for any suggestions.

Comments (16)

• 7 years ago
    last modified: 7 years ago

Put an organic fertilizer on the top and stay away from Miracle Grow. Can also use fish emulsion, seaweed etc. Soil is a living structure, so you want to keep it alive. http://www.homedepot.com/p/Jobe-s-Organic-4-lb-Granular-All-Purpose-Fertilizer-09526/205750607

• 7 years ago

Sorry, but container soil is not a living system :-)) It is almost entirely inert. And a dry organic fertilizer is pretty much a wasted effort as there are little, if any, of the necessary populations of soil microbiology present to process the dry organics into a plant usable form. Miracle Gro is a perfectly adequate and efficient fertilizer for any container planting although it is short on any micronutrients.

• 7 years ago