Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jessica_homan39

Health check and ID for 2 succulents

Jessica Homan
6 years ago

Help please this is my first time caring for succulents. I have them planted in the front yard in Phoenix Az where they receive about 5 hours direct sunlight a day. I was watering them once a day, then of course my boyfriend thought they needed more because of our heatwave and started to give them water 3 times a day. Is the browning on the leaves and yellowing a sign of over watering? Is this to much sun for these guys should I just move them into pots under the porch? Any help would be much appreciated thank you.

Comments (23)

• Kara 9b SF Bay Area CA
    6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

They look fried by the Arizona sun. There's a couple things you could do:).

First one is repot and put in a place with no harsh Arizona sun just lots of bright filtered light. Like you've stated your porch is a good spot for them. I have lots of succulents on my porch. The ones that just aren't the biggest fans of my summer sun;). It's always best to acclimatize your plants. As you now know.

Second idea is to block them from the sun. Put a pot or other plant in front of them.

Here's an example of what I mean by putting a plant or whatever in front of the burned plant. The sempervivum is getting sun now, but once 1pm comes around the cactus will block him from the harsh afternoon sun.

• Jessica Homan
    Original Author
    6 years ago
    That is a very good idea I never thought about putting something large in front. I will try that first, before putting them in a pot. Any idea what these two are called? Also thank you very much for your reply.
  • Kara 9b SF Bay Area CA
    6 years ago

1. Is definitely a Pachyphytum. Maybe P. viride:).

2. I'm not sure tbh. Could be a Senecio. I'm thinking S. mandralis:). Did they have a blue hue when you purchased them?

• kwie2011
    6 years ago