Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
edubya

Best neighbor stories?

Emily H
6 years ago

Do you have a neighbor that goes above and beyond for you or others in the neighborhood? Is there one person that is always out there offering to shovel the sidewalk or showing up with fruit from their tree? Let's hear your best neighbor stores!

Share your experience!

Comments (56)

• miss lindsey (She/Her)
    6 years ago

All these stories illustrate that the best way to have good neighbours is to be one yourself! I have two such stories myself.

When we were gutting our new house (we moved from my in-laws' property where we were living to the one next door which we bought) a neighbour who is a carpet layer by trade offered to put in all our carpets for free. My late mom in law had welcomed him kindly to the neighbourhood twenty years before and he was so happy to have the chance to repay that kindness. Because she was a good neighbour, he was!

Another neighbour got very angry with us once when a cow escaped to his field; even threatened to shoot the cow. We apologized and brought her home. A few years later, all his cows (about 100) got out of his barn while he was laid up sick. My husband herded them all back into his barn and made sure the gate was properly fastened. When the neighbour was able to get out of bed two days later he saw all the hoofprints in his field and called us, "were my cows out?!" My husband explained that they were, and he had put them back in two days ago! Now this neighbour leaves treats for our kids in our mailbox and recently let us unload 25 tonnes of hay in his yard because the truck couldn't make the turn into our driveway. Since it was coming on dark and the weather was taking a turn for the worse, he offered to let Husband store some bales in his barn for as long as we need. Because my husband was a good neighbour despite having excellent reason not to be, we now have a great friend and we can look out for each other.