Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
erikwt78

Pros & cons of On-Counter Cabinetry

erikwt78
5 years ago

So i'm a recent kitchen designer and would like some of your opinions of cabinetry sitting on counter tops. They seem to be a more recent popular choice but everyone i've mentioned them to, have shot them down.

Personally? I think they look nice but only if you have room.

For those who DO have them, what's your opinion now? Glad you went that way? Wish now you had more counter space?

Those who decided against them, hard to know what you're missing but wish you had the storage in an area you don't use the countertop much on?

Lend me your Ears!!! (and pictures while you're at it)

Comments (15)

• Emilie
    5 years ago

I agree with you and love the look. But do not currently have the counter space to give up.

• Aisha Wilkes
    5 years ago

I like the idea of having more drawers but hve a small counter area that begin with. I’m also irvhasonh new granite countertops and, for the price paying, wanna see all the granite I can- ya know?

• Hillside House
    5 years ago
    last modified: 5 years ago

Had them in last house, loved them, added it to this house too.

Last house:

Left side was where I kept my KA and other baking tools. I’d open the doors, slide the KA out, use it, and put it back.

The right side drawers held things like measuring cups and cooking utensils, and also kitchen linens, like dish clothes and towels.

These were only 13” deep, and I had a solid foot of counter in front: plenty of room to prep, make sandwiches, whatever. (We did do the majority of prep on our island, though.) I wouldn’t have stored anything like eating utensils in them.

Our new kitchen, sans doors/drawer fronts:

The only cabinet that goes to the counter is this one on the far left, below the microwave. It is a drawer that holds our toaster, butter, and a loaf of bread. We slide it open, toast, and then slide it closed. It’s 24” deep.