Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
patti_miller86

MDF versus maple for built in desk

Patti Miller
5 years ago

I have had four estimates for a built in desk. Three are using maple for a white painted surface. One is using MDF for the desk. What are anyones thought on using MDF to build this desk?

Comments (16)

• everdebz
    5 years ago

Your experience with past desks as to durability / stability - according to how large it is, etc.?

• Patti Miller
    Original Author
    5 years ago

I have never had a built in desk done before. This will be 64” wide and 23” deep with 4 cabinets up above. and a desk below with two drawers on either side of the 30” opening. It will be built a nook with those dimensions.

• saratogaswizzlestick
    5 years ago

I am not a pro but my choice would be maple. I would not want the off gassing of formaldehyde.

• PRO
    Hal Braswell Consulting
    5 years ago
    I’m not sure I would want a painted desktop, especially MDF. The front edge at the top of the desk is vulnerable to nicks. Personally I would want maple frame 3/4” thick just a little proud of the desktop to protect the edge of a sheet of high definition laminate (Wilsonart HD for example). Or find a nice Corian or other solid surface for the desktop.
  • PRO
    Beth H. :
    5 years ago
    last modified: 5 years ago

mdf doesn't expand and contract like wood does. all that movement could cause the paint to crack or get tiny hairline fissures. Doesn't mean it will happen, it's a benefit to mdf. it also stands up better to heat and humidity. the other is price. mdf is cheaper. It will work fine as long as it doesn't get wet. now if the price is the same for both materials, then the mdf guy is over charging. most center panels on kitchen cabinet doors are mdf.