Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nancy52

Stuck in the 90's! Fix my Family Room!

Nancy
5 years ago

Originally the Family Room was an off white, which didn't show any of the architectural details of the room. Painted in the mid 90's with the "Leather Look". Loved the look for a long time but it's time has passed. Will be painting, possibly add wainscoting? Will NOT Paint antique fireplace mantle. Some new furniture, wall art? Keeping pair of leather couches, rug, hanging lighting fixtures and print above fireplace.

Need ideas on color, furniture arrangements, curtains and "stuff".

Comments (41)

• PRO
    Mottles Murals Ceramic Tiles
    5 years ago

I'm not an interior designer by trade but this is such a great room and looks like it will be fun to re decorate. There are some really talented Houzz designers that will most likely give you some specific ideas. I agree with you though it appears to be a little on the dark side with the wall colors the way they are now. By lightening the room with new paint, accessories such as the wall hangings and curtains the room will be like new again. Love your dog. :) Good luck!

Nancy thanked Mottles Murals Ceramic Tiles
  • reesepbuttercup SLC, Utah 6b
    5 years ago

I like your room, but can understand wanting an update. Just don't paint it gray please!

Nancy thanked reesepbuttercup SLC, Utah 6b
  • Nancy
    Original Author
    5 years ago

Never! I don't want to paint it over with the "in" color only to have it looking outdated in a few years. I'm thinking about blue (like navy). The room has alot of natural light and can handle a dark color. Plus living in New England the "color" really cozy's it up on a winter night.

• grapefruit1_ar
    5 years ago

What a beautiful room! I agree that change is good, and VERY glad to hear that you are not going to try to force gray into the space!